The Beard & Hair in Masala T-Urban. Read about the Man & Love his Video!

Masala Tee’s 1st dose of Blog Series on “TRIPPING with Peeps we Like from Around the World!”

you have to check out this amazing beard and hair that grew & grew & walked & walked & walked 

 

November 9th 2007 – November 13th 2008

one year on foot – 4646km walk through China

unlimited epic beard & hair growth

on Christoph Rehage.

And Masala Tee says ‘RESPECT’.

‘nuff said.

Just watch his AWESOME video.

Now hear what we did.

Thrilled, inspired & awed, we sent him a Masala T-Urban (which we thought would go so well with that beard)  to cheer him on for more walks. Maybe in India this time? And we know this guy means it when he says he’s going for a long walk.

He was super cool- he sportingly wore our Masala T-Urban & took a photo in the same fashion as his Video sans the long hair & beard. And for one of the shots, he’d added a new perspective with his old bearded photo placed next to the beard and hair in the Masala T-urban.

Cool symbolisms there. We approve.

And hey, we too added some (masala) touches to the photo and- Voila! Hope you like it,  Christoph. Maybe we’ll inspire you now to walk across India, grow more beard and hair again. And have them tucked in a Masala T-urban.

And along the way, you’ll definitely get served some real Masala Tea,  and we will cheer you on.

You’re our hero, man.

(And as for us, the Masala Tee girls, we will put on our  funky boots and go walking across town).

Cheers & We Salute You!



The longest way to India challenge from Masala Tee.

The hair & beard in Masala T-Urban. A new perspective. We like.

Q & A between Christoph & Masala Tee:

MT: How many times did you wash your hair & beard during that long walk?

QR: Hard to say. Whenever I got the chance. Sometimes almost daily. Sometimes I stayed dirty for like a week at a time.

MT: Did you have many people  trying to stroke/touch them out of curiosity?

QR: Nope. Nobody would dare.

MT: What did you pack in your backpack during the walk?

CR: I only remember it was about 30kg total, there were 2 cameras and a laptop involved, and I always had my electrical toothbrush! 🙂

MT: Any scary experience walking at night?

CR: Yes, and during the day as well. I am easily intimidated though.

MT: Were you more popular with the men/ladies, children or old folks during the walk?

CR: I like kids, and I think I got along best with them. And with the older folks.

MT: Most beautiful experience?

CR: Group of maybe a dozen kids weaving beads of flowers for my hair – in a small village in the desert, an oasis of happiness.

MT: Did you ever wish that you’d considered other modes of transportation?

CR: Nope. The thought never crossed my mind.

MT: Best food you had during the journey in China?

CR: Most of it. I love Chinese food.

MT: What was the funniest incident that met you there?

CR: There was so much stupidity involved on my part, the funny incidents lined up like pearls on a string.

MT: Give us just one dose of a pearl on that string.

CR: One time i got lost on a mountain, so when it got dark i had to pitch my tent in the woods. I was carrying my laptop along, and because I didn’t really have anything else to do in my tent in the woods on the mountain, I finally resorted to watching ‘Prison Break’ until the batteries went dead. When I woke up the next morning, the area was frosted by an early morning snowfall, and there were some old ladies standing around talking to each other. “What the hell do you think you’re doing?” they asked me when I stuck my head out of the tent. I told them that, duh, I was camping. “You can’t camp out here! Don’t you know about the BAOZI??” they cried, seeming very exciting. Baozi, baozi…what did they mean? A look in my dictionary revealed my foolishness: ‘Baozi’ means leopard (!). Apparently the mountain had been infested by snow leopards and wild cats- and I was a total dumb-a#$ for camping out there, happily watching episode after episode of my highly addictive tv-series, while outside a bunch of feline raptors were lurking.
Obviously, this made for quite an LOL and a sigh of relief when I finally got out of that mountain 😉

MT: The best Chinese word in your dictionary? Pls translate in hindi/english/hinglish for us. (We, the Tee-wallahs have ours – Baozi!)

CR: I like the word… 蛊. It’s almost absolutely useless, but I love the concept behind it, as well as the sound „gu“. It’s about a sort of voodoo, involving poisonous bugs. Awesome stuff.

NB: MT did a quick check and googled the word “gu” and here’s the answer we got :

The most cruel character “蛊” (gu). People in the past were purported to concoct toxins by gathering poisonous bugs together in one container and have them release their venom in attacking one another. After the bugs were all killed, what was left could only be the most venomous of poisons, which is called “蛊”.

MT: Awesome word but we are still not 100% getting it.

MT: When’s your next walk? Where? Why not India?

CR: Haha, dunno yet. I hope I can find the time to walk around a little. If I did walk at all, then it could only be along the originally planned route. India, like so many other excellent places, is unfortunately not on that route. 😦

MT: 😦

MT: Will you accept a walking companion? If yes, what are his/her pre-requisites?

CR: I’ll have to think about this one…

MT: You’ve been fab with this chat. Enjoyed it. Merci. Thank you. Xie-Xie Ni & Dhanyavad. And more!

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

